Skip to content

What Are The 7 Extra Books in The Catholic bible

The particular books of the Bible–Sirach Wisdom, Tobit, 1 Maccabees, Judith, additions to Daniel and Esther, contain terrifying stories of resurrection, family and prayers.

In this audio course of 12 lectures, seven Catholic Treasures: Understanding the Deuterocanonical Books of the Catholic Bible, Dr Dorothy Jonaitis, DMin is a lyrical and insightful explanation of the fascinating and historical significance of these Scriptures. The complete set of seven books and the numerous additions to Daniel, which have come to be called the deuterocanonical texts, have been the source of debate and debate for many centuries. A few fragments of this significant text can be located inside the Dead Sea Scrolls, and they continue to shape how we understand the Bible in the present.

In this course, you will come across texts you’re probably well-versed in, but the story behind how they were included in the Catholic Bible is something that few knowledgeable Catholics know about. Discover the unique stories behind these seven books that make The Catholic Bible unique and comprehensive.

This engaging program is guaranteed to broaden your knowledge of the most well-known work with a lengthy background.

Why are Catholic Bibles Printed with “Extra” Bibles?

Q. What is why this Catholic Bible has seven more books than other Bibles?

A. The seven Old Testament books are found in the Catholic Bibles, but not in Protestant Bibles. Catholics call them canonical deuterocanonical (literally, “second canon”) books. Protestants refer to them as Apocryphal (literally, “hidden,” which means “unknown and false”) publications. The books are Baruch, Tobit, Judith 1, 2, Maccabees, Wisdom (or Wisdom of Solomon), and Sirach (or Ecclesiasticus).

They were also included in the Septuagint, a third-century-B.C. Greek interpretation from the Old Testament, which served as the Bible of the apostles and generations that were to follow them. The oldest Greek documents from the Old Testament, such as Codex Sinaiticus (fourth century) and Codex Alexandrinus (c. 450), are among the deuterocanonical works and other manuscripts.

Why did Martin Luther Remove 7 Books from the Bible?

Martin Luther Eliminated Seven Books From The Bible
He tried to get rid of more than seven. He was determined to bring the Bible in line with his theology. Even if that meant taking out books, he decided to take out Hebrews James and Jude in his New Testament because they were not by his doctrine that salvation is through faith solely.

What’s the rationale behind why Protestants have removed specific books of the Catholic Bible? They didn’t take anything away, and Protestants left out the ‘Old Testament’ texts which Jews didn’t include.

It is also possible to ask, “What are the seven additional books of the Catholic Bible?” These are the Deuterocanonical Books, and they are Tobit, Judith, and 1 Maccabees and 2 Maccabees. Wisdom of Solomon and Wisdom of Sirach (also called Ecclesiasticus) are included.

For more information and assistance, visit the following websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *